Data Units Conversion Logo

The most commonly used units of data storage capacity

The most commonly used units of data storage capacity are decimal units such as kilobyte (KB), megabyte (MB), gigabyte (GB), and binary units like kibibyte (KiB), mebibyte (MiB), and gibibyte (GiB). These are used for expressing the size of data. 

The smallest unit of data in a computer is a bit (short for binary digit). And it is represented by only with a 0 or a 1. A byte consists of 8 bits. The largest unit of storage in a computer is Geopbyte. One geopbyte is equal to a thousand brontobytes.

Let's check the other units of measurement in a computer, from the smallest to the biggest:

1 bit (b) = 0.125 bytes

1 byte (B) = 8 bits

1 kilobyte (KB) = 1000 bytes (in decimal), and 1024 Bytes (in binary)

1 megabyte (MB) = 1000 kilobytes (in decimal), and 1024 kilobytes (in binary)

1 gigabyte (GB) = 1000 megabytes (in decimal), and 1024 megabytes (in binary)

1 terabyte (TB) = 1000 gigabytes (in decimal), and 1024 gigabytes (in binary)

1 petabyte (PB) = 1000 terabytes (in decimal), and 1024 terabytes (in binary)

Share Your Comments

This website uses cookies to collect information about how you interact with our website. We use this information in order to improve and customize your browsing experience and for analytics and metrics about our visitors. To find out more about the cookies we use, see our Privacy Policy.